A journey of discovery…

Taking on feedback on card appearance

G’day guys,

A fair amount of time has passed since the first Kickstarter for Dawn – Rise of the Occulites came and went. As we ramp up towards the relaunch, I wanted to revisit some of the feedback I had received about the appearance of the cards. Having played around with some alternative ways to present the cards in a more stylish manner, I have come up with the following.

Print

The idea would be to redraw the illustrations for all the cards to improve their appearance, but also to make the card templates themselves more appealing. I would honestly love to hear your feedback on what I’ve done here. I haven’t run this past Eagle Games, but before I commit to any of these changes, I would have to get everyone’s feedback, as well as of course the blessing from Eagle Games to do so. It would take a lot of time to re illustrate every card and so my instinct would be that it could be a possible stretch goal to improve the cards. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

All the very best and I’ll have some more information on the relaunch of Dawn – Rise of the Occulites soon.
EDIT: Here is another option that takes into consideration some of the constructive feedback that I’ve received on the above card.

Print

Cheers,
Ben.

4 responses

  1. I would move the number to the side of the symbol to make it a bit easier to read but other than that they look fine.

    September 9, 2013 at 3:54 am

    • boromirandkermit

      Thanks Andrew. I tried this, but due to the size of the icons and numbers, it was just a line of icons and numbers and I felt it needed some separation from each other.
      I’ve uploaded a modified card template taking on some other feedback. Thanks for your thoughts mate. Would love to hear what you think of the new one.

      September 9, 2013 at 10:41 am

  2. I do like the second card template better. It gives more room for both the art and the text. I don’t think the card layout is a problem to be honest.

    September 10, 2013 at 12:27 am

    • boromirandkermit

      Thanks Wylliam. 🙂
      I have tweaked it a bit more over night and will post them soon. I appreciate the feedback mate.
      Changing the card layout is an attempt to make Dawn the best it can possibly be. While I liked the original card template I used, I think these look a bit more professional. My illustration skills have improved somewhat since I designed the originals too, so with the delay, it has allowed me to make good use of that extra time.
      Cheers,
      Ben.

      September 10, 2013 at 10:03 am

Leave a Reply

