A journey of discovery…

Mucking around with Front Covers…

G’day guys,

In between playtesting and writing sessions, I’ve been mucking around with some front cover ideas for Dawn – Rise of the Occulites. Below is one of the ones that I quite like. I would love to hear any comments or feedback you might have on it. Even if this doesn’t end up being the cover, I’d love to do posters in this style – one for each tribe with its chief, as it was rather fun to put together.

Possible front cover for Dawn - Rise of the Occulites

In other news, I have received the greens for the Ignis tribe and will hopefully be getting both them and the Nimbus tribe moulded and cast sometime over the next fortnight.

All the best, look out for some more story coming your way later this week. 🙂

Cheers,
Ben.

3 responses

  1. I like it. 😀

    October 17, 2011 at 11:00 pm

  2. I like the idea but the light at the top looks wrong. It seams to dominate the picture and should put the figures into shadow not put a highlight around them.

    The first thing your eye is drawn to is either the top light or the light water on the left.

    I do like the background – the harsh strokes work well but the brown stream looks like it blends in to the bank on the right middle and not sure why it goes grey

    The logo and title is great – do not change them.

    No real blue in the picture – dawn should have a tinge of blue and a tinge of red in my eye.

    Hope this helps – please do not take it as too harsh but I rip my own photos apart like this 🙂 – not the blog snaps before you giggle!

    Hurry up with those castings as well please – need to get them ordered for delivery before Christmas.

    Cheers
    Andrew

    (who seems to be coming across a little bossy in this comment tonight )

    October 18, 2011 at 7:58 am

  3. boromirandkermit

    G’day Andrew,

    No worries – I prefer honest feedback mate, so its all good. 🙂
    The background image is actually a photo I took of Sherbrook Falls – not far from where I live. I just altered it a bit – broke it down to its simple structure and used it as a vectored background.

    But I am investigating some other alternatives. More information as I get it. 🙂
    Cheers,
    Ben.

    October 30, 2011 at 6:34 pm

Leave a Reply

