A journey of discovery…

Entry 8 – Tuesday, April 20th, 1982

Entry 8 – Tuesday, April 20th, 1982

Through salty tears I tended to my finger. It was throbbing like it had a heart of its own and that’s when I heard Pa’s car rumble up the long driveway to the house. Dashing into my room, I quickly hid the stone away under the bottom drawer of my bedside table. I didn’t want to look at it again. I was shaken. Upset. I could hear Pa’s footsteps crunching on the gravel driveway. Unable to wipe the tears away from my eyes, I ran to the bathroom and jumped in the shower. That would hide the tears. Pa wouldn’t know.

“Only having a shower now mate?!” Pa called through the door. “Talk about a slacko!” he joked.

When I finally turned the shower off and got dressed, it was time for lunch. I could smell fresh bread and my stomach grumbled as I walked into the kitchen.

“So he emerges” Pa announced smiling. But it only took a moment for him to see my burnt finger. His eyes flickered down to his own hand for a brief moment before he surged forth. He didn’t ask me how it happened, which I thought was odd. Grabbing the frozen peas from the freezer, he simply said “It will draw the heat away.”, before turning back to the sandwiches. I watched him look out the kitchen window to the bush, chuckling to himself.

“What’s so funny?” I asked, my feelings almost hurt. “It’s really painful!”

Despite him not turning around, I could tell he was still smiling. “It’s all part of the journey mate. Now, can you grab us some drinks?”

Leave a Reply

