A journey of discovery…

First professional ‘Palaudis Tribe Occulite’ sculpt – So excited!

Thank you all to the emails and comments that I received on my sculpting efforts – despite you all being very nice and encouraging, I felt that I wasn’t able to do my ideas the justice that I wanted for them.

So after lots of careful consideration, I looked to get a professional sculptor to make them. Here is the result of a sample sculpt that Bob Olley has most generously done for me. As you can imagine, I am absolutely and totally excited with how it came out – exactly as I see them in my imagination. Thanks Bob, you’re a genius!

Palaudis Tribe Member - Sculpted by Bob Olley

Anyways, just a preview for now. I hope to have more solid news on this soon as he has done a brilliant job on this one.

Cheers,
Ben.

9 responses

  1. caradoc

    Wow.

    Looks fantastic Ben. Really excited for you! Can’t wait to read more!

    Cheers,

    Giles.

    May 13, 2011 at 9:44 pm

  2. Michael Greenhill

    That’s superb and Bob Olley sculpting, WOW! It looks really good Ben. Best wishes for the future.

    Michael

    May 14, 2011 at 3:54 am

  3. Very very nice

    I’m a little worried over the spear – will it break when you ship?

    Andrew

    May 14, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    • boromirandkermit

      Thanks very much Giles, Michael and Andrew – it is very exciting. If you are interested, I can post the rough concept sketches I’ve drawn for the planned sculpts?? 🙂

      As far as the spear Andrew, I haven’t seen it in person, so I’d have to see, but I think some careful packing before sending them off to people that buy them could get around this ok.

      Cheers,
      Ben.

      May 14, 2011 at 5:15 pm

  4. caradoc

    If they were cast in the same sort of metals that Eureka use there shouldn’t be a breakage problem – but good wrapping would certainly help!

    Looks really good Ben, I’d love to see the concept sketches!

    Cheers,

    Giles.

    May 14, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    • boromirandkermit

      They will be moulded and cast @ Eureka, so you’re right Giles, breakage shouldn’t be a problem. 🙂

      May 15, 2011 at 7:59 am

  5. Michael Greenhill

    That’s awesome to hear. I have a ton of Eureka mini including everything needed to play Fur and Buttons, except the dinos. I love their molds and products. They have really good models and the clean up process is practically non existent when I go to paint. I’d also enjoy seeing the sketches. This is pretty exciting seeing the tribes and game take form.

    May 15, 2011 at 10:14 am

    • boromirandkermit

      Michael – that is awesome that you have the Fur and Buttons stuff too! Very nice. Eureka does some very nice casting indeed.
      Andrew, I haven’t really decided on distribution yet, that’s on my list of things to sort out though. 🙂

      I have uploaded the concept sketches and a new chapter in the background story – one that changes things in Darwin’s life forever…
      Cheers,
      Ben. 🙂

      May 16, 2011 at 11:11 am

  6. Good news over Eureka – the frogs etc make it to this side of the world fine.

    Any chance of using some one like Fighting 15s over here (UK) for distribution? They currently stock Eureka figures so a tie-in exists already….

    Love to see more concept sketches – post away.

    May 15, 2011 at 9:20 pm

Leave a Reply

