A journey of discovery…

What’s on the horizon? An Occulite Update.

First of all, I wanted to just say thank you to all those who voted for how they would like to see “Dawn – Rise of the Occulites” to develop.

In the end it was a very close run race, with around 18% difference in the voting. As you may have seen, the miniatures version won out in the voting, which is both exciting and daunting. It basically means that I will be looking into getting the tribes and their allies (the Luftles) sculpted up in the future. I am exploring a few options with this, but if you think you might have any suggestions or know someone that would do an awesome job and would be seriously interested in helping sculpt up the line, please drop me an email on ben.boersma@gmail.com

So as you may know I have been working on several Rise of the Occulites titles. Three of these you would have been aware of, but there is a fourth that has joined the ranks. This fourth game is set in between Dawn and Dusk and is a card game. The roots of this game go back 8 years to my first serious design attempt – a game called “Muppets”. I learnt very quickly that the theme wouldn’t fly (despite being awesome if you are a Muppet Show fan!) and so while the game still did the rounds on our gaming table, the ideas behind it lay dormant for a good 7 years. Late last year I began to overhaul the game, retheming it to the Rise of the Occulites world and I’ve been very excited by the results. I am now just working on the art side of things – illustrating all the cards – which I am greatly enjoying.

Here’s a sneak peek of one of the final versions of the cards for “Race to Dawn” – I hope you enjoy it. 🙂

Race to Dusk Sample Card

As an update on the other two games – Dusk and Time of the Occulites, well Dusk is moving nicely and I am illustrating the tiles/cards and pieces for that at the moment. It is almost fully playtested and may turn out to be the first release, depending on how quickly things get moving on the miniatures and which game I finish the art for first.

Here is a sneak peek of an early prototype of the modular terrain tiles for Dusk – a Lake/Waterway tile. 🙂 *The art may change

Lake/Waterway Early Prototype Tile from Dusk

I have pages and pages and pages of notes for Time of the Occulites – but unlike its name, I have not had much time to spend on it. This game will be epic when finished, but is a long way off yet.

If there’s anything in particular you’d like to know, or you have any feedback or comments, please post below and thanks for reading!

Cheers,
Ben.

2 responses

  1. Michael Greenhill

    I really like the design of the cards. The occulite dragonfly is a nice touch. Its the little things that make games stand out in the crowd. Very nice and great on the miniatures version!

    March 24, 2011 at 6:11 am

  2. caradoc

    The art is fantastic!

    I’d love to read an overview of what the games are (just short) – how they fit into the theme of the game – and the general ideas for the mechanics.

    It’s all looking great though Ben!

    Cheers,
    Giles.

    April 3, 2011 at 5:37 pm

Leave a Reply

