A journey of discovery…

Rise of the Occulite miniatures?

You may recall in my first Developer Diary that I had initially wrote Dawn: Rise of the Occulites as a tabletop miniatures game, but had been working on implementing it as a boardgame due to a number of reasons (some of which I discussed).

So most of you would assume that the tabletop miniatures side of things had been dropped entirely. I can say that this is not the case. I could not in my right mind, let the tabletop miniatures side of the game go. I have been developing both in tandem, to use the same rules, with some changes for the miniatures version – mainly in the movement aspect (however I have kept the mushrooms as I loved them so much!).

Some food for thought… an early prototype Luftle figure painted up (sans arms) and a prototype Occulite green in the back as a teaser…

 

Early Prototype Painted Luftle (with early prototype Occulite Teaser in background)

Right now I’m trying to decide how to proceed. I need to keep in mind how I’m going to produce this game and physically distribute it, but I want to ensure that I am targeting the right audience as well. If I self-published it as a boardgame, it would most likely come with either cardboard standups or wooden blocks with stickers for the characters. There would also be the option to purchase metal miniatures to replace these figures as time goes on, but they wouldn’t be available to start with as I need to choose what to put my time into – the art for the tiles, or the sculpting of the miniatures.

Another option is to go down the miniatures game route and just have these metal figures available from the get-go, but as with all miniatures games, the scenery needs to be made by the player. No tiles would be provided as I would put my time into sculpting the miniatures.

The third option is for a publisher to pick it up and run with it. This is an awesome option, but one that is more difficult to pull off (however if there are any publishers that are interested… please email me!)

So, my question to all of you guys out there is which iteration would you prefer? Would you prefer a boardgame or a miniatures game?

Thanks so much for helping shape the direction of the first game in the Rise of the Occulites Trilogy.

Cheers,
Ben.

3 responses

  1. Michael Greenhill

    I like both ideas, and totally understand the reasons for going one way or the other to start off with. I am first and foremost a miniatures game player and can see the possibilities right away to use many of the pieces of terrain I have accumulated over the years. I also have ideas for new Occulities based terrain. It would fit in well with the swamp/pond terrain that I use for Fur and Buttons. That being said, I will play the game in whatever iteration comes down the pipe. I really like the concept.

    March 7, 2011 at 11:21 am

  2. caradoc

    Love the miniature Ben.

    I think the idea of developing them both in tandem is an interesting one. The evolutionary aspect is probably better suited to a board game format – where time can be abstracted.

    A miniatures game is immediate action – but would certainly be a lot of fun.

    I’d be interested to hear what flavour the evolutionary aspect will take in terms of gameplay before I can really have an opinion of whether it would suit a board or table top format.

    Looks great though – the minis are fantastic. I’m looking forward to seeing and reading more.

    Cheers,

    Giles.

    April 3, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    • boromirandkermit

      Thanks Giles! 🙂

      There is a Developer diary I wrote on Evolutionary Options which goes into a brief amount of detail on how it is represented in the first game Dawn. To give a recap, all Occulites have innate abilities depending on their tribe and can gain learned abilities by fulfilling certain in game conditions that would help them learn the ability. As such, over time and through experience, your small tribe of five Occuiltes evolve. Their stats can change depending on circumstances or in-game decisions. In the Occulite world that Darwin observes, the evolution of the Occuiltes takes place over years rather than centuries or millennia, thus giving Darwin all the information to write his book. It also is the reason the games will span across their evolution, watching their tribes grow and expand and eventually develop trade and diplomacy.

      The whole game revolves around the concept, with the mechanics and theme working in tandem.

      Cheers,
      Ben.

      April 4, 2011 at 9:11 pm

Leave a Reply

