A journey of discovery…

Entry 6 – Monday Night April 19th, 1982

Entry 6 – Monday Night April 19th, 1982

I had been sitting in my room for the past few hours after completely losing track of time in the bush. Pa had been very angry – or at least he was trying to look like it. I knew better though. I could see the relief in his eyes as he came closer, his shoulders relaxing before giving me an earful. He said I had missed lunch. That it had gone cold and he had to throw it away. I think its strange how we bring up unimportant things when we worry.

There is a knock at my door and I quickly shove my sketch book under the doona as Pa walks in.

“You know you don’t have to stay in here Darwin. You can come out and we can play some cards or something.” He looks over to the lump under my doona – my book!

“Unless you have something more important that you’re doing?” he continued, his brow furrowing ever so slightly. He was suspicious. I glance down quickly at my doona, checking that the book was hidden. I couldn’t let him know what I was drawing. I couldn’t let anyone know. At least, not yet…

I shake my head vigorously, feigning innocence.

“No, nothing important. Cards? That would be great Pa, I’ll be out in a minute.”

“I’ll get the cards ready then.” He replies looking out from under his bushy brows, eyes twinkling mischievously before turning and walking out of the room.

I grab the book from under the doona and finish sketching the newest creature. It was certainly similar to the first one, but this looked more like it had fins or flippers. Its skin was covered in what had looked like smooth scales.

After studying my sketch and searching my memory I decided that this was also an Occulite.

“But it lives near water and looks a bit fishy…” I mutter to myself. Then a mini lightbulb goes off in my head. I remember back to school – Mr Hansen told us about what water was made up of. Two Hydrogen and one Oxygen…

“Hydrogen… Hydro… Hydris. Hydris!” I exclaim. With a gleeful grin I proclaim in my notes that this is a type of Occulite species… a sub species I think they call it. Which I am going to call Hydris.

I close my book and slide it under the bed before dashing out of the room.

 

Entry 6 - April 19th - Hydris Sketch

To be continued…

One response

  1. Michael Greenhill

    Nice! Bring on the water tribes!!

    March 6, 2011 at 1:04 pm

Leave a Reply

